In 1860, Mr. William Laing and his wife Louisa purchased 50 acres to build the Laing house, a beautiful red brick Regency style home in a picturesque setting on the banks of Lynde Creek in Whitby.
Coming originally from Aberdeenshire, Scotland in 1841, he built the largest mercantile and grain business in Ontario County. Mr. Laing also served as the Town Reeve in 1855 and as the Whitby Mayor in 1863 and 1864.
The Laing family provided the town of Whitby with half the funds needed to construct the St. Andrew’s Church at the corner of Byron and St. John Streets.
The Laing model is available on lots 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 and 13.